A Travellerspoint blog

The Firewatcher

Farm sitting and wood splitting

sunny 15 °C

My hosts have gone away over the weekend and left me in charge of the place. Under me I have two dogs, three hens and a rooster. I'm the boss.

So I'm pretty much alone here on the mountain. The next door neighbour lives a couple of hundred meters away, but I've never seen him even though I walk past his house everyday when I walk the dogs. It's ok over the weekend, but a social being like myself would die if this was more long term.

There's an old quarry round the corner, I went exploring in there yesterday. I felt like a kid again as I was skipping between the big heavy blocks of granite, avoiding spider webs and pine-needles. Sadly all the crappy pictures I took were blurry as I couldn't hold my cell-phone stable enough.

DSC00204.jpg

It's really peaceful out here, and it's nice to get a slice of nature. There are forests around here, which makes me feel almost like home. After all I come from the dark forests of Småland and my favorite past-time activities was to go bush-walking for hours; I'd explore the paths and old dirt roads, sometimes coming across an old long-forgotten stone-wall in the middle of the woods. Of course there was not really anything that could kill me back there, no snakes or spiders, and no alleged big wild-cats running about. Just me, the trees, and the birds; catching the occasional deer, moose and fox.

I have to keep the fire going, since the fire-wood is wet it'll make it a bitch to re-light it in case it goes out. It got close enough on my first day alone, I went about my work and forgot to stack the fire up with more wood. When I came back inside it was nearly out, but I managed to nurse it back to life with the use of about four newspapers and a couple of smaller pieces of wood. It's been going strong ever since.

DSC00208.jpg

I'm glad I only have another six days to go. On Friday I go back to Melbourne, to pick up where I left off, with a few changes. I've been inspired by the much healthier lifestyle I've lead out in the bush and decided to start going to the gym, hard. I will eat healthy and drink less, at least for a while. As soon as I get my van sorted I'll take it on road trips around the country, there are a few things I still wanna check out around here.

Beppe Karlsson, Harcourt

Posted by Beppe.Karlsson 20:06 Archived in Australia Tagged australia orchard beppe_karlsson farmwork farm_work specified_work_australia

Email this entryFacebookStumbleUpon

Table of contents

Be the first to comment on this entry.

Comments on this blog entry are now closed to non-Travellerspoint members. You can still leave a comment if you are a member of Travellerspoint.

Enter your Travellerspoint login details below

( What's this? )

If you aren't a member of Travellerspoint yet, you can join for free.

Join Travellerspoint